The Painter’s Daughter by Julie Klassen

Standard

Julie Klassen has written another winner in  The Painter’s Daughter. This is a real page turner that you will not want to put down. It is a regency romance with suspense, mystery, secrets, even hidden rooms….. We have the painter’s daughter who also paints for her father, keeping her talent hidden from the eye of the public.  Sophie Dupont finds herself in love with Wesley Overtree, a carefree artist self seeking, who seduces her and then leaves without saying goodbye…. Enters Captain Stephen Overtree, who has been searching for his brother, Wesley, heir to Overtree Hall to  get him to return home and take his rightful place as owner and overseer.   Stephen meets Sophie and offers her marriage to save her from shame.  Stephen and Sophia marry and return to Overtree Hall. There he introduces his new wife to his rather shocked parents and grandfather. Stephen returns to war leaving a confused Sophie behind…..
When Wesley returns home, he is furious to find Sophia has married Stephen and realizes he made a great mistake. He believes his brother did this for revenge…… What will Sophie do….two men in love with her, one the father of the child she is carrying, the other a god fearing gentle man, who hopes to win her love…..I found myself wanting to turn to the back of the book to see which man wins, but refrained…….Julie’s writing is in the style of Victoria Holt, a book I can highly recommend. I was gifted this book from Bethany House Publishers for my review.
The Painter's Daughter

About dixiegran

I am a grandmother from Dixie who loves to read christian fiction. I created this blog so I could do reviews on the books I read. I am on the review blogger program for Bethany House....also Blogging For Books and Barbour Publishing Co. On Christian Reviewers I also obtain books from various authors to read and then give my review on Amazon and here.

Leave a Reply

