God’s Daughter (Vikings of the New World Saga Book 1** by Heather Day Gilbert

Standard

God’s Daughter was a first for me, in that it is a book about the Vikings during the year of 1000, also my first to read by Heather Gilbert.  The only thing I’ve ever read about the Vikings were in my history books at school…….this historical fiction, based on Gilbert’s much research into the lives of the Vikings was so very interesting. It kept you turning pages…… God’s Daughter is the story of Gudrid, a  beautiful Viking woman on a voyage to the New World with her husband, Finn, and a crew of Viking men (and a few women). Gudrid is only 24 years old and has been twice widowed before she married Thorfinn.  Her mother was ordered hung by her own father when she was just a child and she was raised by another and this caused her to turn from pagan worship and embrace christianity. She’s a leader in her own right, a healer and a daughter-in-law of Eirik the Red. She is a strong woman who has endured much and faces much danger and hardships in this new land. I loved reading about the customs, rites, traditions, slaves, even the pagan ways of the Vikings. They were a strong people with ways that were so untamed and at times seemingly barbaric. Loved reading about the skraelings, natives to the new land. There is romance,loyalty, danger, mutiny, battles, deaths from sickness and battles, but through it all the one true God belief is held on to. What an interesting and informative read.  I can’t wait for the next book, Forest Child to be finished.                                                                                               

About dixiegran

I am a grandmother from Dixie who loves to read christian fiction. I created this blog so I could do reviews on the books I read. I am on the review blogger program for Bethany House....also Blogging For Books and Barbour Publishing Co. On Christian Reviewers I also obtain books from various authors to read and then give my review on Amazon and here.

Leave a Reply

