My Heart Belongs in Fort Bliss, Texas: Priscilla’s Reveille by Erica Vetsch

Standard

My Heart Belongs in Ft. Bliss, Texas is a great Christian historical fiction novel that I truly enjoyed! This is my first book to read by Erica Vetsch and I hope it won’t be the last. The book opens with Priscilla Hutchens traveling to Ft. Bliss, Texas to get her twin nephew and niece whose parents have recently died. She despises everything about the wagon trip west, the barren terrain, the dust, she can’t wait to collect the children and be on her way back to Ohio and her job as an illustrator for a catalog. Major Elliot Ryder has the children at the fort and promised his sister on her deathbed that he would care for the twins as his own.  Priscilla arrives at the fort and finds that the post doctor has the children and refuses to give them up. She intends to stay long enough to persuade him that they would be so much better off to be raised in a civil society. She disdains everything about army life as it took the  lives of her father and her brother. As she stays and battles the stubborn doctor, who enlists her help, she begins to soften toward him and the army way of life.                  There is a struggle of wills, sickness, enlightenment, Indians, hostile and friendly and romance………beautifully written.                                                                                                                        I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour publishing and was under no obligation to post a review, but was honored to do so.

 

 

 

 

About dixiegran

I am a grandmother from Dixie who loves to read christian fiction. I created this blog so I could do reviews on the books I read. I am on the review blogger program for Bethany House....also Blogging For Books and Barbour Publishing Co. On Christian Reviewers I also obtain books from various authors to read and then give my review on Amazon and here.

Leave a Reply

